INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION FOR THE CONSERVATION OF ATLANTIC TUNAS



COMMISSION INTERNATIONALE POUR LA CONSERVATION DES THONIDES DE L'ATLANTIQUE

COMISION INTERNACIONAL PARA LA CONSERVACION DEL ATUN ATLANTICO

Madrid, 8 May 2023

ICCAT CIRCULAR # 3915 / 2023

SUBJECT: MEETING OF THE PORT INSPECTION EXPERT GROUP FOR CAPACITY BUILDING AND ASSISTANCE (Online, 30 May 2023)

Further to Circular 9979/22 of 29 November 2022, the Meeting of the Port Inspection Expert Group for Capacity Building and Assistance has been convened for **30 May 2023**. This meeting will be held online using the Zoom platform between 11:00 to 16:00 Madrid time, with a break of one hour at around 13:00.

The current membership of the Expert Group is attached. In order to organize the online meeting, Head Delegates are requested to inform the Secretariat of any change in the member of the Expert Group from their CPC by 19 May 2023 at the latest. Please note that in accordance with the *Recommendation by ICCAT to clarify and supplement the process for seeking capacity building assistance pursuant to ICCAT Recommendation 14-08* (Rec. 16-18), paragraph 8 "The Expert Group will consist of no more than one participant from each CPC, participating as experts in port inspection and/or developing CPC needs, and not representing the interests of their respective CPCs." Nominated participants must also register for the meeting by 23 May 2023 using the online registration form which will be available shortly on the ICCAT current meetings webpage.

An initial study of possible needs was carried out in 2018, where several CPCs submitted the Pre-assessment form and in some cases also the Self-Assessment form. Any CPC wishing to request assistance for the first time, or update any previous requests for assistance are invited to submit their new or revised assessment forms to the Secretariat by **15 May 2023**.

The Tentative Agenda is attached and will be uploaded to the Nextcloud document folder, details of access to this folder will be sent to Expert Group members. CPCs wishing to submit a document for consideration by or information of the Expert Group other than the aforementioned assessment forms are requested to do so as early as possible, **preferably before 15 May 2023.**

Please accept the assurances of my highest consideration.

Executive Secretary

Camille Jean Pierre Manel

DISTRIBUTION:

Commission Officers:

 Commission Chair:
 E. Penas Lado
 COC Chair:
 D. Campbell

 First Vice Chair:
 Z. Driouich
 PWG Chair:
 N. Ansell

 Second Vice Chair:
 R. Chong
 STACFAD Chair:
 D. Warner-Kramer

 Chairs Panels 1-4
 D. Warner-Kramer

SCRS Chair:

- Head Delegates
- Cooperating Parties, Entities or Fishing Entities
- Members of the Port Inspection Expert Group for Capacity Building and Assistance.

C. Brown

Attachments: Tentative agenda and the list of current members.

INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION FOR THE CONSERVATION OF ATLANTIC TUNAS



COMMISSION INTERNATIONALE POUR LA CONSERVATION DES THONIDES DE L'ATLANTIQUE

COMISION INTERNACIONAL PARA LA CONSERVACION DEL ATUN ATLANTICO

Tentative Agenda

- 1. Opening of the meeting
- 2. Adoption of the agenda and meeting arrangements
- 3. Review of progress since previous meeting, including results of the Cote d'Ivoire needs assessment
- 4. Consideration of opportunities and partners to deliver training utilizing the new manual
- 5. Determination of next steps in the assessment of needs and review of training requests
- 6. Other matters
- 7. Adoption of report and adjournment

COMISION INTERNACIONAL PARA LA CONSERVACION DEL ATUN ATLANTICO

Current list of members of the Port Inspection Expert Group for Capacity Building and Assistance

ALBANIA*	GUATEMALA*
Baze, Ali	Carballo Rosal, Francis Alexander
ALGERIA	GUINEA (REP.)*
Hentour , Abderrahmane	INAPOGUI, Guilé
ANGOLA*	MAURITANIA
Neto , Vicente Miguel	Moulaye LV, Ahmed Ould
BELIZE*	MOROCCO
Robinson, Robert	Sabbane, Kamal
BRAZIL	NAMIBIA
Pierin Piccolo, Natali Isabela	Bester, Desmond R.
CANADA	NIGERIA
Browne, Dion	Garba , Usman
CÔTE D'IVOIRE*	PANAMA*
Fofana, Bina	Quintanar, Elmers
EGYPT*	S. TOMÉ and PRÍNCIPE*
Nasser Arif Khalil El Shaarawe	Francisco Chico, Alberto
EL SALVADOR*	SENEGAL
Osorio Gomez, Juan Jose	Fall, Cheikh
UNITED STATES	TUNISIA
Baxter, Everett	Sohlobji , Donia
King, Melanie	, ·
GABON	EUROPEAN UNION (Chair)
Boupana Bola , Bernice Carol	Kempff, Alexandre
THE GAMBIA*	URUGUAY*
Gibba , Omar Sm	Domingo, Andrés
GHANA*	VENEZUELA*
Yeboah, Richard	Garcia Amaya, Jhonny Jose

^{*} Member appointed by the CPC, but did not participate in the 2022 meeting.